Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.
ADVERTISEMENT Costa del Sol Holidays

Periana information

Periana which is famous for the excellent peaches and olive oil produced on its land, stand in the foothills of La Sierra de Alhama, near Zafarraya Gap, on gently sloping terrain which descends into the Velez region, with La Viñuela Reservoir providing its surroundings with an attractive touch of colour. Its municipal origins date back to 1761, though the village was partially destroyed by the 1884 earthquake. Its only monument of note is the Neomudejar-style St. Isidro Church.


A multitude of archaeological remains have been found in the municipal area, notably those from the Palaeolithic period at El Cerro de Alcolea hill and the paintings in Marchamonas Cave. Relics from the Lower Roman Empire have also been discovered. In Arabic times, the village’s sulphorous waters were famous for their medicinal qualities; proof of this are Vilo Baths, which were still in use until the 19th century. Periana acquired municipal status in 1761, when San Isidro Labrador Chapel became a parish church and the village ended its dependence on Riogordo. Another episode in the village’s history, remembered with sadness by its older inhabitants, was the major tremor which occurred on Christmas Day 1884; with its epicentre in La Sierra Tejeda, it devastated most of the north of the Axarquia region, with Periana the village worst affected by what became known as the Andalusian Earthquake, with 57 deaths and the destruction of large areas of the urban area. Chronicles tell us that the task of providing rescue and assistance for the victims was extremely difficult. On 10 January 1885, King Alfonso XII visited the site of the catastrophe, showing concern for the plight of its inhabitants and helping to obtain aid with which to lighten the burden of the economic ruin which had befallen many local people practically overnight.

Malaga province

Alameda information
Alcaucin information
Alhaurin de la Torre information
Alhaurin el Grande information
Almachar information
Alora information
Alozaina information
Alpaindeire information
Antequera information
Archez information
Archidona information
Ardales information
Arena information
Arriate information
Ataje information
Benagalbon information
Benahavis information
Benalauria information
Benadalid information
Benalmadena information
Benamargosa information
Benamocarra information
Benaojan information
Caleta de Velez information
Campillos information
Carratraca information
Cartama information
Casares information
El Chorro information

Colmenar information
Comares information
Competa information
Costa del Sol information
Estepona information
Fuengirola information
Gaucin information
Guaro information
Istan information
Iznate information
Jubrique information
La Axarquia information
Malaga information
Marbella information
Maro information
Mijas information
Monda information
Montejaque information
Nerja information
Ojen information
Periana information
Pizarra information
Puerto Banus information
Puerto Marina information
Ronda information
Torremolinos information
Torrox information
Velez Malaga information

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved