Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.
ADVERTISEMENT Costa del Sol Holidays

Campillos information

Campillos stands on a natural route which links the province of Malaga with the north of the province of Cadiz, at one extreme of the Antequera basin, among cereal and olive fields. Its main region of scenic and ecological interest is the zone by Dulce, Salada, Redonda, Capacete, Marcela, Cerrero and Camuñas Lagoons, declared a Nature Reserve by the Andalusian Regional Government. The village’s most notable monument is Our Lady’s Church. Campillos is also famous for its long tradition of producing leather garments.


The region has been the scene of numerous archaeological discoveries pertaining to prehistoric times, particularly to the Neolithic period, which have appeared in the hills which fall within the municipal boundary; The Castillejos was the site of relics from the Ibero-Roman era; and a Visigoth settlement appears to have once existed in a location known as The Moralejo. In this days the village dates back to 1482. After the conquest of Teba by Ramirez de Guzman and the subsequent pacification of the area, natives of Osuna came to work as coal merchants and cattle farmers, as a result of the abundance of holm oaks and pastures. Settlers from Teba and Antequera followed later. In 1680, the inhabitants of Campillos bought the right to jurisdiction over their own village, which had hitherto belonged to the Count of Teba, and King Charles II granted it full village status. It was named the headquarters of the administrative district in 1821. In 1975, with the building of Guadalteba Dam and the disappearance of the village of Peñarrubia beneath its waters, the municipal area of Campillos was extended by the incorporation of the territory of the aforementioned location into its boundaries.

Malaga province

Alameda information
Alcaucin information
Alhaurin de la Torre information
Alhaurin el Grande information
Almachar information
Alora information
Alozaina information
Alpaindeire information
Antequera information
Archez information
Archidona information
Ardales information
Arena information
Arriate information
Ataje information
Benagalbon information
Benahavis information
Benalauria information
Benadalid information
Benalmadena information
Benamargosa information
Benamocarra information
Benaojan information
Caleta de Velez information
Campillos information
Carratraca information
Cartama information
Casares information
El Chorro information

Colmenar information
Comares information
Competa information
Costa del Sol information
Estepona information
Fuengirola information
Gaucin information
Guaro information
Istan information
Iznate information
Jubrique information
La Axarquia information
Malaga information
Marbella information
Maro information
Mijas information
Monda information
Montejaque information
Nerja information
Ojen information
Periana information
Pizarra information
Puerto Banus information
Puerto Marina information
Ronda information
Torremolinos information
Torrox information
Velez Malaga information

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved