Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.
ADVERTISEMENT Costa del Sol Holidays

Monda information

Monda lies in the foothills of La Sierra de las Nieves, its municipal area forming part of the natural park of the same name, and retains the hallmark of its Arabic past in the shape of its steep, narrow streets lined with whitewashed houses standing in the shadow of the castle, built on the ruins of the former Arabic fortress and rehabilitated for touristic purposes.


Insufficient details are available for us to be able to identify this village with the Roman Munda, scene of the battle between Caesar and Pompey in 45 B.C.; its name is probably derived from El Mundat Castle, built in the 9th-century by Omar Ben Hafsun to fortify his positions against the attacks of the last emirs of Cordoba (886-912). The castle, razed to the ground by Sab Al-Mundir, was rebuilt in the 11th-century by the Hammudies; today, on the site of its ruined walls, part of the old fortress has been rehabilitated and its interior turned into a hotel. In 1485, Monda was conquered by troops of the Catholic Monarchs led by Hurtado de Luna, who became its first Christian governor. It fell under the jurisdiction of Malaga, and its inhabitants were allowed to continue living in the area as mudéjares - Moslems permitted to live under Christian rule - . After the 1501 rebellion in the Serrania de Ronda region and Marbella, they were forced to convert to Christianity. In 1570, following the decision to expell the moriscos - Moslem converts to Christianity - from the kingdom of Granada, the village was repopulated by Old Christians.

Malaga province

Alameda information
Alcaucin information
Alhaurin de la Torre information
Alhaurin el Grande information
Almachar information
Alora information
Alozaina information
Alpaindeire information
Antequera information
Archez information
Archidona information
Ardales information
Arena information
Arriate information
Ataje information
Benagalbon information
Benahavis information
Benalauria information
Benadalid information
Benalmadena information
Benamargosa information
Benamocarra information
Benaojan information
Caleta de Velez information
Campillos information
Carratraca information
Cartama information
Casares information
El Chorro information

Colmenar information
Comares information
Competa information
Costa del Sol information
Estepona information
Fuengirola information
Gaucin information
Guaro information
Istan information
Iznate information
Jubrique information
La Axarquia information
Malaga information
Marbella information
Maro information
Mijas information
Monda information
Montejaque information
Nerja information
Ojen information
Periana information
Pizarra information
Puerto Banus information
Puerto Marina information
Ronda information
Torremolinos information
Torrox information
Velez Malaga information

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved