Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.
ADVERTISEMENT Costa del Sol Holidays

Archez information

Archez, Salares, Sedella, Canillas de Albaida, Canillas de Aceituno, Competa, all villages which stand at the foot of the impressive Tejeda and Almijara Sierras; all morisco - Moorish convert to Christianity - villages, where vines were the main crop and are still an important element in the landscape as well as the economy; all display similar characteristics, reflecting the true essence of the Axarquia region, its scenery, its way of life and its history. The layout of their streets and the architecture of their whitewashed houses, which create unforgettably-picturesque corners, gives them a unique seal of identity, so much so that, together, they make up what's known as the Mudejar Route - Ruta del Mudéjar - . The highlight of the village is the minaret of Our Lady’s Church.


Few historical details exist regarding the village’s origins; however, the design of its streets and its urban appearance are, like those of so many villages in the Axarquia region, typically Arabic. The presence of the Almohades is more evident, with the magnificent minaret of the former mosque still visible today; over 15 metres in height, its exterior features interestingly decorated with sebka material and tiling. Now the bell tower of the parish church, it was declared a Monument of Historical and Artistic Importance and part of the National Heritage in 1979. When Velez-Malaga was captured by Catholic Monarchs in 1487, Archez fell under Christian control; it soon became part of the estate of the Count of Cabra, Don Diego Fernandez de Cordoba. On Christmas Eve 1884, the village and its municipal area were affected by a major tremor known as the Andalusian Earthquake which caused alarm among residents as well as heavy material damage.

Malaga province

Alameda information
Alcaucin information
Alhaurin de la Torre information
Alhaurin el Grande information
Almachar information
Alora information
Alozaina information
Alpaindeire information
Antequera information
Archez information
Archidona information
Ardales information
Arena information
Arriate information
Ataje information
Benagalbon information
Benahavis information
Benalauria information
Benadalid information
Benalmadena information
Benamargosa information
Benamocarra information
Benaojan information
Caleta de Velez information
Campillos information
Carratraca information
Cartama information
Casares information
El Chorro information

Colmenar information
Comares information
Competa information
Costa del Sol information
Estepona information
Fuengirola information
Gaucin information
Guaro information
Istan information
Iznate information
Jubrique information
La Axarquia information
Malaga information
Marbella information
Maro information
Mijas information
Monda information
Montejaque information
Nerja information
Ojen information
Periana information
Pizarra information
Puerto Banus information
Puerto Marina information
Ronda information
Torremolinos information
Torrox information
Velez Malaga information

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved