Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.
ADVERTISEMENT Costa del Sol Holidays

Benamargosa information

Benamargosa stands at the heart of the Velez-Malaga area and is a veritable paradise of orchards and subtropical crops, surrounded by the dry hills and peaks typical of the Axarquia region.
Benamargosa dates back to the 15th century, to the time of the moriscos - Moorish converts to Christianity - .


Like other villages in the Axarquia area, Benamargosa sprang up around a few early dwellings inhabited by settlers farming adjacent land; this growth really took off in the long period of stability which followed the Moslem occupation. Both its name and its urban layout bear testimony to the undeniable link between this enclave and mediaeval Arabic culture. The village fell into the hands of the Catholic Monarchs after the fall of Velez-Malaga in 1487. In 1496, 45 Mudejars - Moslems permitted to live under Christian rule - lived in the village and it began to gain in importance. In 1949, Benamargosa belonged to the tahá -administrative district- of Comares, forming part of a group known as The Four Villages, along with The Borge, Cutar and Almachar. In 1546, during the reign of Philip II, it became a parish. The Christian reconquest marked the start of a process of progressive abandonment on the part of the local population, mainly Moorish converts to Christianity, in the face of difficult living conditions. The last remaining Moors were definitively expelled in the wake of the 1569 uprising which had a major effect in the whole of the Axarquia region. In 1810, the village swore allegiance to the King of Spain, Joseph Napoleon I, a turn of events that was to lead to the War of Independence with France.

Malaga province

Alameda information
Alcaucin information
Alhaurin de la Torre information
Alhaurin el Grande information
Almachar information
Alora information
Alozaina information
Alpaindeire information
Antequera information
Archez information
Archidona information
Ardales information
Arena information
Arriate information
Ataje information
Benagalbon information
Benahavis information
Benalauria information
Benadalid information
Benalmadena information
Benamargosa information
Benamocarra information
Benaojan information
Caleta de Velez information
Campillos information
Carratraca information
Cartama information
Casares information
El Chorro information

Colmenar information
Comares information
Competa information
Costa del Sol information
Estepona information
Fuengirola information
Gaucin information
Guaro information
Istan information
Iznate information
Jubrique information
La Axarquia information
Malaga information
Marbella information
Maro information
Mijas information
Monda information
Montejaque information
Nerja information
Ojen information
Periana information
Pizarra information
Puerto Banus information
Puerto Marina information
Ronda information
Torremolinos information
Torrox information
Velez Malaga information

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved