Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.
ADVERTISEMENT Costa del Sol Holidays

Ojen information

Its municipal region lies between La Sierra Alpujata and Sierra Blanca - behind Marbella - , its highlight being El Juanar Valley, an area of immense natural beauty. The village itself, surrounded by orchards, still retains its original Arabic layout, with houses built on different levels to accomodate the mountainside on which they stand, and is considered to be one of the most beautiful in the province. Relics of its past include the remains of Solis Castle and the Mudejar-style Our Lady’s Church.


Ojen dates back to the Andalusi-Arabic period, when it was known as Oxen or Hoxan, meaning “rugged place”. Records tell us that in front of the village walls (now gone) Abderraman III’s troops fought with the muladíes - Christian converts to Islam - led by Omar Ben Hafsun in rebellion against the dominance of the Emirate of Cordoba. Having defeated the muladíes, Caliph Abderraman III ordered the building of a mosque as proof of Moslem supremacy over Christian converts. Following the village’s capture by the Catholic Monarchs, one hundred moriscos - Moslem converts to Christianity - and 4 Christians remained, all of whom were devoted to agricultural tasks. However, by the mid 16th century, the moriscos had grown tired of the abusive taxes which they were obliged to pay, and, encouraged by the inhabitants of Istan, set fire to the village and its church and fled to the Alpujarra region. By the end of the same century, the village was practically abandoned. In 1600, it was repopulated by settlers from La Roda de Andalucia. In 1807, it was declared an independent village by Charles IV.

Malaga province

Alameda information
Alcaucin information
Alhaurin de la Torre information
Alhaurin el Grande information
Almachar information
Alora information
Alozaina information
Alpaindeire information
Antequera information
Archez information
Archidona information
Ardales information
Arena information
Arriate information
Ataje information
Benagalbon information
Benahavis information
Benalauria information
Benadalid information
Benalmadena information
Benamargosa information
Benamocarra information
Benaojan information
Caleta de Velez information
Campillos information
Carratraca information
Cartama information
Casares information
El Chorro information

Colmenar information
Comares information
Competa information
Costa del Sol information
Estepona information
Fuengirola information
Gaucin information
Guaro information
Istan information
Iznate information
Jubrique information
La Axarquia information
Malaga information
Marbella information
Maro information
Mijas information
Monda information
Montejaque information
Nerja information
Ojen information
Periana information
Pizarra information
Puerto Banus information
Puerto Marina information
Ronda information
Torremolinos information
Torrox information
Velez Malaga information

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved