Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.
ADVERTISEMENT Costa del Sol Holidays

Montejaque information

Montejaque is a white village in La Serrania de Ronda mountains whose urban design bears witness to its Andalusi past, with steep, narrow streets and whitewashed houses with Arabic roof tiling; a past that is especially evident in the upper district of the village. The lower district, with its modern streets, is home to Saint Jame's Parish Church.


The name Montejaque comes from Monte Sacrum, "sacred mountain". As a military fortress, it played an important defensive role in protecting the borders of the Nazari kingdom of Granada. When Ronda was captured and the surrounding area subsequently controlled by the Catholic Monarchs in 1485, Montejaque was awarded to the Count of Benavente, who was named Lord of Montejaque and Benaojan, whereupon the 2 villages ceased to be mere districts of the town of Ronda. Records tell us that during the revolts instigated by the moriscos - Moslem converts to Christianity - in the 16th century, the governor of Montejaque, the morisco Mohamed Idriz, saw his life endangered by his refusal to support his rebel brothers, his attitude being rewarded after the uprising had been crushed with land and an annuity. Another event in the village’s history occurred in 1810, during the War of Independence, when the guerrilla Jose de Aguilar led 240 men from Montejaque, Benaojan, Atajate, Cortes de la Frontera and Jimera de Libar to victory against near 600 French foot soldiers and 80 cavalry at the bridge over the River Gaduares. Montejaque is also famous for having played host to generations of young Spaniards receiving their Advanced Pre-military Training.

Malaga province

Alameda information
Alcaucin information
Alhaurin de la Torre information
Alhaurin el Grande information
Almachar information
Alora information
Alozaina information
Alpaindeire information
Antequera information
Archez information
Archidona information
Ardales information
Arena information
Arriate information
Ataje information
Benagalbon information
Benahavis information
Benalauria information
Benadalid information
Benalmadena information
Benamargosa information
Benamocarra information
Benaojan information
Caleta de Velez information
Campillos information
Carratraca information
Cartama information
Casares information
El Chorro information

Colmenar information
Comares information
Competa information
Costa del Sol information
Estepona information
Fuengirola information
Gaucin information
Guaro information
Istan information
Iznate information
Jubrique information
La Axarquia information
Malaga information
Marbella information
Maro information
Mijas information
Monda information
Montejaque information
Nerja information
Ojen information
Periana information
Pizarra information
Puerto Banus information
Puerto Marina information
Ronda information
Torremolinos information
Torrox information
Velez Malaga information

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved