Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.

The Route of the Discovery

La Rábida

Opposite Punta del Sebo, where the monumento a la Fe descubridora (Monument to discovering Faith) is found, stands La Rábida, a modest 15th century Franciscan convent, built on the site of the original Almohad building of La Rábita.

Considered to be the greatest symbol of the discovery of The New World, within the walls of the convent a depressed Christopher Columbus awaited the removal of the various impediments to the royal designation of his captaincy of the journey to the West Indies.

The simple beauty of the building's pre-Columbian structure can still be seen inside, along with a number of frescos of the Huelva painter Vázquez Díaz celebrating the Discovery.

The Gothic-Mudéjar church contains a 15th century crucifix, texts by Martín Alonso Pinsón, some of Columbus' personal belongings, as well as the Celda de las Conferencias (The Conference Cell), witness to the interviews Columbus held with the friars of the convent, forming the link of La Rábida with the Discovery.

The convent is surrounded by beautiful gardens which contain La Columna de los Descubridores (The Column of the Discoverers), which commemorates the Fourth Centenary of the Discovery.

An interesting journey can be completed by visiting the monument to Plus Ultra, next to the Muelle de la Reina (The Queen's Dock), commemorating the first Atlantic flight, as well as la Universidad Iberoamericana, or the new site where reproductions of the three caravelles which completed the first crossing can be found.

Huelva routes

The Route of the Discovery
Route of La Rábida
Route of Moguer
Route of Palos de la Frontera
From Alájar town to Castaño del Robledo town
Almonaster- Cerro (hill) de San Cristóbal
Almonaster- Escalada village
El Repilado- Los Romeros
Castaño de Robledo- Jabugo
Jabugo- Galaroza- Las Chinas
Riotinto´s mining zone
Santa Ana- Castaño del Robledo
Los Marines - Linares de la Sierra
Corterrangel - Cortelazor
Aroche- San Mamés hermitage
From Santa Ana la Real to its river bank
Arroyomolinos de León- Cerro de los Bonales
El Rocío- La Rocina- El Acebrón
Reception Centre "El Acebuche"
Punta Umbría - Enebrales
Natural Park of the Marismas de Odiel
From Alájar to Fuenteheridos
Alájar- Aldea de los Madroñeros- Linares
Alájar- Linares through Linares mountain pass
Linares- Ribera de Linares
Linares- Aracena through the Molinilla
Cortegana- Fuente los Berros- Cortegana
Cortegana- Las Veredas


All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved