Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.

Castilla y Leon information

General information

The autonomous region of Castile and Leon includes much of northern Spain. Castile and Leon borders Asturias and Cantabria in the north, the Basque Country, La Rioja, Aragon, Castile-La Mancha and Madrid in the east, Extremadura and Castilla-La Mancha in the south; and Portugal and Galicia in the west.

Castile and Leon belong to the lower northern plateau with the exception of the north eastern province of Burgos that is lies in the Ebro depression. The whole area is surrounded by mountains. There are notable foothills arising from the Cantabrian mountain range in the north. The Leon mountains, also in the north, lie in the shadow of these mountains. The Iberian mountain range rises from the northeast, with numerous sierras crossing over into the region. The Sistema Central range appears in the south, and includes both the sierras of Gredos and Guadarrama. The high plain lies in the middle of these mountains encircled by lesser mountain ranges. These mountain peaks reach up to 500 and 1000 metres in height. The most siginificant waterway is the river Duero. It begins in the province of Soria, crosses the region and then heads into Portugal where it finally flows into the Atlantic.

Source: Web server of Instituto de Turismo de España, TURESPAÑA.

Castilla Leon guide

Castilla y Leon Map
Avila map
Burgos map
Leon map
Palencia map
Salamanca map
Segovia map
Valladolid map
Zamora map

Natural Park Los Lobos
Sierra de Gredos
Picos de Europa

Camino de Santiago
Cañadas Route
Carlos V Route
Channels Route
Route of El Cid
Route of El Duero
Route of the Castilian Language
Sefarad Routes

D.O. Bierzo
D.O. Cigales
D.O. Ribera del Duero
D.O. Rueda
D.O. Toro

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved