Maps of Spain to help plan your holiday.

Murcia information

Geographical description


The city of Murcia is situated in the South East of the Iberian Peninsula. It's the capital of the Autonomous Community of the same name that, with an area of 11,317 km2, is, the largest autonomous community of only one province in Spain.

The metropolitan area of Murcia spreads over 881 km2 and it is made up of the capital city and 54 towns and villages.

It consists the urban quarters, including the downtown centre of 3km, in diameter, its old quarters of 1.5 km, in diameter, and the 54 administrative districts of the Murcia City government, which encompass half of the population in the municipality.

Geographically it's divided into two very different areas: the Huerta, which spreads along the banks of the river Segura and the countryside, dry land situated to the Northwest, Northeast and South of the region. The average height above the sea level is about 43 metres.

Murcia is an open and dynamic city with a privileged situation in the Mediterranean, making it very attractive for congresses and cultural activities.


According to census figures, Murcia and its nearby town had a total of 391.001 inhabitants, placing it in the group of the seven most populated cities in Spain. Of this population, 45 % live in the city.

Murcia guide

Murcia map
Murcia history
Murcia geographics
Murcia transports
Murcia Nature Reserve
Murcia festivities
Murcia Walks
Murcia Cathedral
Murcia Romea Theatre

Murcia Monuments
Murcia Museums
From the River to the Alameda
From the Malecon to the Auditorium
From San Francisco Sq to Sta Isabel Sq
From la Merced to San Juan Sq.
Murcia Surroundings

Useful Numbers
Murcia gastronomy

The Coast of Murcia
The Countryside of Murcia
La Huerta de Murcia
Visiting La Huerta
Murcia religious sculptures
Murcia accommodation
Murcia restaurants

All content © 2019 All Rights Reserved